English French German Italian Portuguese Russian Spanish

John H. Walker Award

To recognize the growing importance of association executives in the workings of the Society of American Florists and to honor the contributions of SAF's former long-time Executive Vice President, John H. Walker.  In 1979, after his retirement from SAF, the John H. Walker award was first given to honor him. 

Award Criteria:

  • Recipients must be employed (i.e. paid staff) by a member association of SAF.
  • Recipients must have a minimum of three years continuous service with a member association.

The Awards Committee Will Specifically Consider:

  • Creative and substantial implementation of industry and SAF-sponsored programs beneficial to member associations (and their individual members) and our various other publics.
  • Enrollment or attendance at professional schools, seminars, meetings or courses which tend to contribute to an executive's ability to better serve member associations and their members.
  • The nominee's service in leadership positions in professional societies and organizations dedicated to professionalism in association management.
  • The nominee's involvement in civic and community organizations.
  • Evidence of a nominee's sharing his management skill and abilities with associations and association executives.
  • The nominee's contributions and achievements to his or her association.

Nomination/Selection Process

  • Nominations must be endorsed by the president of the employing association(s) and will be accepted annually. 

Nomination Form - Microsoft Word

Nomination Form - PDF

Nomination Form - Fillable PDF




2014 - No Recipient Chosen

2013 - Russ Barley, AAF, AIFD, CFD, FSMD
Emerald Coast Flowers & Gifts

2012 - No Recipient Chosen

2011 - No Recipient Chosen
2010 - No Recipient Chosen

2009 - DuVal "Butch" Johnston, AAF
            Johnston's Quality Flowers, Inc.

2008 - No Recipient Chosen

2007 - Drew N. Gruenburg

            Society of American Florists

2006 - Augusto Solano

2005 - Rodney Crittenden
            Michigan Floral Association

2004 - James Wanko
            Wholesale Florist & Florist Supplier Assn.

2003 - Benjamin Bolusky
            Florida Nurseryman & Growers Assn. 

2002 - Robert Otsuka
            California Flower Market 

2001 - 
Dennis Kirven
            Ohio Florists' Association 

2000 - 
No Recipient Chosen 

1999 - Peter J. Moran
            Society of American Florists 

1998 - 
No Recipient Chosen

1997 - Dianna L. Doss
            Texas State Florists' Assn.

1996 - 
Bob Heffernan
            Connecticut State Florists' Assn.

1995 - Thomas C. Shaner

1994 - Archie J. Clapp

1993 - 
No Recipient Chosen

1992 - 
Bob Briggs
            Colorado Greenhouse Growers Assn.
1991- William Carl Plummer
           Arkansas Florists' Association 

1990 - Donna Cameron
            Northwest Florists' Association 

1989 - 
Robert Heron
            Professional Allied Florists of Metro Detroit 

1988 - 
Wil Carlson
            Bedding Plants, Inc. 

1987 - 
Jim and Gen McCarthy, AAF
            North Central Florists' Assn.

1986 - 
Floyd W. Johnson
            Greater Milwaukee Florists' Assn. 

1985 - 
Dr. Harry Tayama, AAF
            Ohio Florists Association

1984 - Melvin H. Schwanke, AAF
            Nebraska Florist Society 

1983 - 
Michael A. Caliandro, AAF
            California State Florists Assn.

1982 - 
Mildred P. Michie
            Professional Florists of Mississippi Valley

Charles Barr, AAF
           Connecticut Florists Association

1980 - 
James Krone, AAF
            Roses, Inc. 

1979 - 
Richard G. Klingman
            Colorado Flower Growers Association
            American Carnation Society 


Keywords: awards, John Walker